RESERVAS RESERVAS

The surroundings

The Xuvia Industrial Mill Interpretation Centre (CIMIX) is located on the left riverbank in an environmentally valuable beautiful natural area tagged as Xuvia – Castro Special Area of Conservation (SAC), belonging to Xunta de Galicia’s Natura 2000 network. This protected area is established around the confluence of rivers Grande de Xuvia and Castro, which flow into the Ferrol estuary. It also includes the hilly part of the Forgoselo mountain range and encompasses a total of 2,074 hectares across the municipalities of Narón, Neda, San Sadurniño, Moeche, A Capela, As Somozas and As Pontes.

River Grande de Xuvia around Pedroso recreation area.

Among the most significant protected habitats are the ash and alder alluvial forests, the oak groves, the chestnut tree groves and the peat bogs. The final section of the river features Narón’s route of the mills, which goes through spectacular riverside forests with a varied fauna featuring otters, salamanders, Iberian frogs and insects such as dragonflies and water striders. Also common in these areas are birds such as kingfishers, dippers, tits and grey wagtails.

At the mouth of the River Xuvia, it is more frequent to see several duck species such as mallards, geese, herons or cormorants, among others.

A family of mallards by the Xuvia river.

In this area, nearby the Xuvia bridge, Narón has a wonderful sea promenade fit for walking with different areas to do sport, sit down and behold Ferrol’s estuary.

At the end of the 18th century, a wide array of industrial facilities were created in the Xuvia riverbanks with the purpose of using the water power to move the machinery. As a result, the area changed completely. The pioneers were Juan Lestache and Francisco Bucau with the construction of the mills they owned in partnership; however, new initiatives started to sprout little by little. In 1787, Lestache himself brought into operation a paper mill and the Royal Tanning Factory in 1793. Even today, we can still behold examples of this industrial activity.

The Aceas de Xuvia

In 1785, they built another mill using the same French system as Lestache´s, but, in this case, using the tidal movement as driving force. These are the Aceas de Xuvia, (Xuvia watermils), located in O Ponto, at the mouth of the River Freixeiro. It was built in 1785 by Frenchman Santiago Beaujardin, partners with his fellow countryman Juan Lembeye, who remained as the sole proprietor in 1796 after the society had been dissolved. In 1798, Charles IV issued a royal charter according to which the Aceas were declared Royal Factories. Still standing today we have the mills, warehouses and the house. As a highlight, we must mention the monumental dam that retained the tides to move the flint millstones.

The Xuvia copperware

In 1790 started the construction in Neda, in the left riverbank, of the Real Fábrica Nacional de Cobrería, to make copper plates for coating the boats manufactured in Ferrol’s arsenal. The facilities started manufacturing in 1803 but the production changed frequently until 1868, making rifles and bayonets during the Peninsular War, minting coins, producing tins and finally going back to copper plates.

In 1874, bought the facilities from the state and turned them into the Barcón & Cía Textile Society, devoted to cotton textiles and spinning, and became the most important factory in Galicia within its market sector. Since 1956, it is the headquarters of Galicia Textil, S.A.

Presa do Rei

To take water to the Xuvia copper factory, a monumental dam was erected between 1791 and 1794 upstream that was called presa do Rei. This construction, which is still very well preserved, is thirty-three metres long and nine metres high above the river. In the left bank are the overflow channels and the sluice house, currently in ruins, from where water was carried along the bypass channel for about 900 metres up to the copper factory.

Not only do we have the chance to visit the Xuvia Industrial Mill Interpretation Centre (CIMIX) at the banks of the River Xuvia, but we also have the chance to enjoy a route that will take us through a landscape of a high natural, historical and ethnographic value. It is a marked and signposted itinerary with interpretive panels featuring the most important resources with audioguides available in the following links rutas.naron.es and turismo.naron.es

Access the route from a mobile device.

Access the route of the mills on Wikiloc.

Características de la ruta:

  • Type of route: linear
  • Distance: 14 kilometres
  • Difficulty: average / low
  • Elevation gain: 144 m
  • Completion time: 4 hours on foot / 2 hours by bike.

Description:

The itinerary starts at San Martiño de Xuvia, monastery, also known as Mosteiro do Couto –declared a Cultural Interest Site (BIC)–, one of the most important hermitages in north Galicia since the 12th century. Precisely, the English Way to Santiago de Compostela passes through this particular spot; here, also starts the pilgrimage route to Santo André de Teixido shrine.

Romanesque apse at the San Martiño de Xuvia monastery.

Romanesque apse at the San Martiño de Xuvia monastery. Aceas de Xuvia, mill, which jointly used the tidal energy and the current of the River Freixeiro, built at the end of the 18th century by Frenchmen Santiago Beaujardin and Juan Lembeye. Its dam is very well maintained and one the most monumental dams in Galicia.

The path continues bordering the estuary and keeps getting narrower, passing through the seafront and reaching the Xuvia bridge, which connects the two banks and the Narón and Neda municipalities. Here, in the village of San Roque, we can find an impressive centenary tree appearing on the Catálogo de Árbores Senlleiras de Galicia. (Galicia’s Catalogue of Iconic Trees). It is the oldest bull bay in Galicia and one of the oldest in Europe, since it was planted in 1795 by Eugenio Izquierdo de Rivera, politician, diplomat and the person responsible of the commissioning of the Real Fábrica Nacional de Cobrería, (Royal National Copperware Factory), in the left bank of the River Xuvia.

Santa Rita or Xuvia bull bay.

Further ahead, we can find the Xuvia Industrial Mill Interpretation Centre (CIMIX) and, going further uphill, we can find the la presa do Rei, (the King’s Dam), constructed at the end of the 18th century to supply water to the Royal National Copperware Factory in Neda.

The path goes by the riverbank at all times, under the shade of a typical riverside forest until the following stop, the Entrerríos mill, located in the confluence of the rivers Xuvia and Castro. It is a flour mill built in 1929 which remained operational until the 1960s. From here, and following the course of the River Castro, the path leads to the small and singular medieval bridge of Pielas, with just one arch and just wide enough for a cart to pass through.

Bridge of Pielas over the River Castro

At the bridge of Pielas, divert from the river trail for one kilometre to approach the San Lourenzo de Doso parish church, nowadays run-down and without worship, which maintains most part of its structure and the bell tower.

Now head to the last stretch of the itinerary to reach again the Xuvia banks, at recreativa de Pedroso recreation area with numerous services such as tables and benches to eat, a play area, a campsite and the Pedroso or Chao mill built in 1800 (currently restored).

The English Way to Santiago, a pilgrimage route deeply rooted in European history, offers a unique and enriching experience for those who walk it. Narón stands as an essential stop: marked by the “NARÓN 100” milestone, indicating the start of the final 100 kilometres to Santiago, our town welcomes pilgrims from all over the world, providing them with a meaningful starting point.

The CIMIX, Your Stop on the Way:

The Centro de Interpretación dos Muíños Industriais do Xuvia (CIMIX) is an iconic landmark on the first stage of the English Way, situated beside the Xuvia river bridge. Here, pilgrims will find:

  • Credential Stamping: The CIMIX offers a credential stamping service, an unforgettable memento of your passage through Narón.
  • Tourist Information: Our staff will provide you with helpful information about the Way, pilgrim services, and local points of interest.
  • A Break in History: Take the opportunity to discover the rich history of the CIMIX, an ancient industrial mill that forms part of the Way’s heritage.

Narón, a Welcoming Town:

Narón provides pilgrims with all the comforts and services needed for a pleasant stay. Enjoy a wide range of accommodation and dining options, catering to every taste and need. Delight your palate with the excellent local cuisine, featuring products such as O Couto peppers and seafood from the estuary. Explore our rich historical and natural heritage, where you’ll find iconic places like the Monastery of San Martiño de Xubia (O Couto), the starting point for Santo André de Teixido; the Aceas Mill, declared a Royal Flour Factory by Carlos IV; the CIMIX and the Xuvia Mill; and the Centennial Magnolia of Xuvia.

Your Journey Continues:

After your visit to the CIMIX and Narón, the English Way will lead you through landscapes of great beauty and history to Santiago de Compostela. Bo camiño!